Tudor Merchant’s House & Old Grammar School, Kings Norton
The timber framed Tudor Merchant’s house and the nearby Grammar School are among the oldest buildings in Birmingham and date to the 15th century. Both buildings are grade II* listed. The Merchant’s House has been changed and extended over its long lifetime and part of it became a public house in the 18th C known as the Saracen’s Head. In the 19th C the building was owned by Mitchells & Butlers who donated it in 1930 to Kings Norton Parish. The Old Grammar School was probably built as a priest house to St Nicolas Church. In 2004, the Tudor Merchant House and Grammar School won the BBC 2 Restoration programme and both buildings were restored. However, it has been difficult to find the funds to pay for the high running and maintenance cost of these old buildings and their future is uncertain. Both buildings have been closed for some time and this guided tour is a unique opportunity to access the buildings and see what is inside.
Both buildings are old with narrow corridors and uneven floor and stairs. The Tudor Merchant’s House has a lift to the first floor. There is no lift access to the first floor in the Old Grammar School. We regret that this tour is not wheelchair accessible.
Please note that the guided tour is of the Tudor Merchant House and Old Grammar School but does not include a tour of St Nicolas Church. St Nicolas Church can be visited during Birmingham Heritage Week on Sat 9 & 16 Sept (10am-12noon) and Wed 13 Sept (10am-12noon).
Organised by Kings Norton Historic Society & Kings Norton Parish.
Date & Time
Sat 16 Sept | 10.15am-11.45am
The tour will start outside the Tudor Merchant’s House, The Green, Kings Norton, B38 8RU
We regret that this tour is not wheelchair accessible.