Located by the historic Kings Norton Green, St Nicolas’ Church is one of Birmingham’s oldest and most dramatic churches. It is a Grade 1 listed building.
A church was first recorded on this site in 1231, though there is evidence of a Norman church build around 1150, a small building occupying the site of the current chancel. The central aisle was added in the 13th century and the tower and spire in the 15th century. The 60 ft spire could once be seen from the centre of Birmingham.
The church offers a fascinating range of dimensions for visitors; from early Norman windows to a recently unveiled plaque commemorating the creator of Thomas the Tank Engine, Rev Wilbert Awdry, who wrote the first of his stories while a Curate at St Nicolas’ in the Second World War. This year (2026) is the 80th anniversary of the publication of the first of these world-famous stories.
Other elements include some spectacular stained-glass windows by internationally acclaimed manufacturers, mementos of Kings Norton’s industrial past, and two spectacular standing tombs with effigies or incised designs of members of prominent local families.
While there will be a team of welcomers, there is also a comprehensive self-guided audio tour and a free leaflet describing the church’s history and key features. Refreshments and toilet facilities can be accessed on Kings Norton Green. Dogs are welcome.
There is free parking on The Green, but it can be hard to find space. The adjacent pub, the Bulls Head, allows parking for a fee. Kings Norton railway station is about ten minutes walk away. The nearby Pershore Road is a major bus route.
Organised by St Nicolas’ Parish Church Council